Honouring Excellence

Alumni nominations are now closed for Honouring Excellence 2017. Tickets for the April 27th event will be on sale at the end of February 2017.

Various sponsorship opportunities are still available.


Thank you to our Title Sponsor, TD Insurance Meloche Monnex and to our Distinguished Alumni Sponsor, Canadian Tire for your continued support.

Honouring Excellence 2016

Here are the recipients of the 2016 Honouring Excellence Awards:

Darryl Kenna (Business Administration, 1993)
Kenna has been named this year’s Distinguished Alumnus. He is currently a consultant and owner of The Epiphany Group in Lethbridge. His foray into the finance world began immediately after graduation, and in 2001, Kenna and Gord Laurie created Laurie, Kenna and Associates - an award-winning, highly-recognized and large multi-agent corporation of Sunlife Financial Canada. The group expanded its Lethbridge office into both Taber and Blairmore. In April, 2015 Kenna moved on to form The Epiphany Group, a business consulting service for financial advisors. Away from the office, he is a dedicated community member. Kenna’s annual Friends and Family Golf Tournament raises money for local charities and he has also established the Gord Laurie Foundation in memory of his friend and business partner. The foundation supports educational, recreational and cultural needs while supporting “non-traditional” charities in southern Alberta, contributing over $125,000 to causes like Meals on Wheels, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Lethbridge Pregnancy Care Centre and Streets Alive. He has volunteered with the Lethbridge Junior Achievement Program and Lethbridge Ball Hockey while sitting on the Board of Directors for the Lethbridge Symphony Orchestra and other community organizations. He is also a long-time donor to Lethbridge College, supporting student awards and scholarships while offering guidance to graduating students about the finance industry. Darryl is continually growing his career, all while making significant contributions to his community.

Lisa Ford (Communication Arts, 1984)
Ford is this year’s Career Virtuoso Award recipient. She is currently the station manager and news director for Global Saskatoon. Ford began her career in Swift Current, Sask., as a creative writer at Fun Radio FM-94 and quickly jumped ahead. After transitioning into television in Red Deer, she made a move that would change her life, joining the original on-air team at STV, now Global Saskatoon, in 1987, at just twenty-four years of age. Twenty-nine years later, she is an iconic symbol at the station, having served as news director for more than two decades, while adding station manager to her duties in 2012. Ford enjoys pushing boundaries and advocates for stronger roles for women. She was one of the first women to insist on continuing to report on-air while pregnant, laying the ground work for future journalists despite being ridiculed by some viewers and even a few of her superiors. Ford has also recently received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Radio, Television and Digital News Association of Canada, recognizing her continued excellence and outstanding service to the industry. Ford’s career has been a steady rise towards greatness and she is continually being recognized for her hard work and dedication.

Kimberly Schmidt (Multimedia Production, 2008)
Schmidt is the recipient of this year’s Community Leader Award. She lives in Regina, Sask., and works as the Regina Police Service’s social media officer. Schmidt is an avid volunteer, dedicating time to groups such as the Regina Queen City Kinettes, Help Portrait Regina, the Saskatchewan Co-operative Youth Program, and a local dog rescue group in addition to numerous committees and events at her work. She is known by her peers as an “Energizer bunny” for her go-getter attitude and boundless amounts of energy. No average volunteer, she spearheaded the first ever Help Portrait Regina event, she has been awarded the Kinette of the Year award both by her club and in her entire zone, and earned the Maple Leaf Award of Distinction from Kin Canada in 2014. A former MVP for the Lethbridge College Kodiaks curling team, Schmidt continues to show heartfelt dedication and devotion to her community and is always looking for more ways to get involved. 

Rob Parsons (Welding, 2010)
Parsons has been selected as this year’s Rising Star award recipient. A thrill-sport enthusiast, Parsons would spend his spare time away from KB Heating & Air Conditioning working on different variety of machines. However, a motocross crash cost him the use of his legs in June, 2011. He broke both his legs – tibias, fibulas and femurs – punctured his lungs and severed his spinal cord. But, his mind was racing to find ways to get back to going fast. With no adaptive race car programs available, he created his own, building a hand-controlled 600-horsepower competitive drift machine from the ground up. At the same time he formed a charitable organization - the Chairslayers Foundation gives other disabled drivers a chance to feel the thrill of drifting. Parsons has held clinics around North America where he demonstrates his adaptive creation and gives others the chance to experience it. To support this work, he (and his car) moved last year to Long Beach, California, and has earned the chance to race the car competitively at a Formula D event, finishing in the top 16 out of 60. Rob continues to show perseverance and a desire to help others while demonstrating innovation and an extreme passion for life.

Lethbridge College has more than 32,000 alumni all around the world. These four outstanding alumni will be recognized at this year’s Honouring Excellence recognition event, at 5:30 p.m. on April 21 in the Garden Court Dining Room at Lethbridge College. Tickets are $65 for general admission, $55 for alumni and $45 for students. Tickets and more information are available online or by contacting Kari Holmes, Alumni Relations Coordinator at 403-329-7220.

Honouring Excellence Alumni Awards

  • The Distinguished Alumni Award was established in 1992 to commemorate the college's 35th Anniversary. This prestigious award is intended to recognize a college graduate who has distinguished themselves in their chosen career, made a significant contribution to their community and demonstrated service to the college and its students. This award is presented annually to an individual who has clearly demonstrated commitment and excellence in service to their career, the community and the college.

To commemorate Lethbridge College's 50th anniversary, three new alumni recognition awards were established to recognize the successes and contributions of additional graduates.

  • Community Leader Award - Presented to an alumnus who, regardless of where they performed their good deeds, has made contributions to their communities through their work or personal interests. Award winners will be those with the drive to improve the lives of fellow citizens.
  • Career Virtuoso Award - Presented to an alumnus who has made significant contributions to their professional fields through their diligence, talent and dedication. They are the inventors, creators and leaders who find new paths to excellence and bring prominence to their chosen fields. Their career path has shown a steady rise towards success which is recognized by their peers and in their industry.
  • Rising Star Award - Some careers simply explode onto the scene. Rising stars are those who, within 10 years of graduation from Lethbridge College, have left trails of success as they hurtle above the crowd to claim their places as driven innovators in their professions.

Office of Alumni Relations

Office: CE2322
Phone: 403-329-7220
Fax: 1-888-434-1270
Email: alumni@lethbridgecollege.ca