Board of Governors


The Minister of Advanced Education is seeking applications from individuals interested in serving as a public member of the Board of Governors of Lethbridge College.The posting and online application can be found at:
Government of Alberta Public Agencies - Current Board Opportunities.

If you have questions, please contact the Board Secretary Dianne Marcellus-Kerr at 403-393-5409.  Applications can be submitted online as indicated in the recruitment posting.  If you are unable to apply on-line, please submit your completed application form, cover letter resume and bio, quoting the recruitment posting competition number to using the following application form:  Board Application.


Board of Governors (as of Feb. 14, 2017)

  • Kristin Ailsby, Board Chair
  • Tracy Zappone, Vice Chair, Chair GHRC 
  • Calvin Scott, Vice Chair
  • Dr. Paula Burns, President and CEO
  • Brenda Brindle
  • Daniel Dubinski
  • Randy Dunlop
  • Rita Halma
  • Kari Holmes
  • Tom McKenzie
  • Richard Stamp
  • Board Secretary:  Dianne Marcellus-Kerr

The Board of Governors of Lethbridge College is established under the authority of the Post-Secondary Learning Act (Statutes of Alberta, 2003 Chapter P-19.5) .  Click on the following link for Bylaws.

The Board of Governors is the most senior decision-making body at Lethbridge College. Public Board members are appointed by an Alberta Government Order in Council and generally serve a three-year term of office, with an opportunity to serve a further three-year term. Internal representatives to the Board (i.e. the Academic , Non-Academic Staff and Student Representatives) are appointed directly by the Minister of Alberta Innovation and Advanced Education for terms as outlined in the Post Secondary Learning Act.

The most current signed Mandate and Roles Document for the Board of Governors (June 2014) can be found at the following link — Lethbridge College Mandate and Roles Document.  This document is developed collaboratively with the Minister of Innovation and Advanced Education and the college's Board of Governors to reflect a common understanding of respective roles and responsibilities.   The mandate for the college was approved by the Minister on October 25, 2011.

The Board Chair position can be found by clicking on this link:  Board Chair Position Profile

Board Schedule for 2016/17

Board meetings generally start at 4:30 p.m. in the College Boardroom (CE2341) and the schedule is as follows:


  • Tuesday, September 20
  • Tuesday, October 25
  • Tuesday, November 29


  • Tuesday, January 31
  • March 28 - Board Retreat
  • Tuesday, May 9
  • Tuesday, June 13

The agenda for each meeting is available on this site under the menu item "Board Agenda".